10 Minute Play: LIFE. UNSCRIPTED

Playwright Fa Abdul
Director Fa Abdul
Festival Short+Sweet Theater (Kuala Lumpur) Malaysia
Year 2014
Duration 9 minutes
Synopsis ‘Life. Unscripted’ is a complex tale of a deeply binding relationship between a mother and a daughter who learn to navigate their challenging journey together while denying the unresolved emotions between them.

the-saddest-thing-about-betrayal-is-that-it-never-comes-from-your-enemies-quote-1

ANNIE is seated on the floor with her back against the bean bag, holding a glass of wine in her hand. She is drunk but has a highly disturbed look on her face.

 There is a bottle of wine and a box of condom on the black box.

 GINNIE, in school uniform, steps in with her school bag. Removes her shoes.

 ANNIE stares at GINNIE as she walks in.

GINNIE:

(stops walking) What??

ANNIE grabs the box of condom, showing it to GINNIE.

GINNIE:

You went through my things?

ANNIE:

Why do you have this?

GINNIE:

(drops her school bag) You have no right to go through my stuffs!

ANNIE:

Answer me.

(No response.)

 ANNIE:

Ginnie! Tell me what is this doing in your drawer?

GINNIE:

What do you think?

ANNIE:

What do you mean ‘what do I think’?

GINNIE:

Whatever! (walks away) If you don’t have anything else to say, I’m going to my room.

ANNIE:

Stop. We’re not done here. Don’t you dare walk away!

GINNIE:

(Stops walking, turns around) What do you want from me?

ANNIE:

I want to know how long has this been going on?

GINNIE:

How long has WHAT been going on?

ANNIE:

(throws the condom at GINNIE) This!

GINNIE:

Oh, you mean how long I have been having SEX?

ANNIE:

Answer me.

GINNIE:

Long enough.

ANNIE:

Tell me the truth! Who is this boy? How long has this been going on? 1 month? 2 months? 1 year? How long? Tell me the truth!

GINNIE:

Which truth do you want to hear – that I am having lots of sex or the fact that you’re not? (picks up the condom)

ANNIE:

What the hell is wrong with you? Why are you doing this? You’re just fifteen for godsake! You are just fifteen!

GINNIE:

(turns around) So? It’s my body, I can do whatever I want to do. Plus you were just two years older when you had me!

ANNIE:

That’s why I don’t want you to make the same mistakes I did.

GINNIE:

So you are finally admitting that I am a mistake, huh?

ANNIE:

Don’t you dare change the subject!

GINNIE:

(Sigh) Since when are you so interested about me huh? You usually don’t even bother…

ANNIE:

Look, as long as you are living under my roof, you have to live by my rules! You hear me?

GINNIE:

(short pause, soft tone) That’s the only one common thing we have, don’t we?

ANNIE:

What?

GINNIE:

We both live under the same roof.

ANNIE:

You young lady better behave yourself before you get into trouble.

GINNIE:

You don’t have to worry about my troubles, mom. Unlike you, I don’t run away from them.

ANNIE:

(short pause, stares at GINNIE) I want you to get rid of all that, am I clear?

GINNIE:

Does that mean you are encouraging me to have unprotected sex?

ANNIE:

Why does it have to be so difficult with you? You are twisting every word I say. I said NO-SEX. Have I made myself clear?

GINNIE:

Crystal. Now stay the hell out of my room.

ANNIE:

(tries to get up) Ginnie…It’s for your own good okay? I only want the best for you.

GINNIE:                                               

The best for me? You don’t even know what’s best for yourself!

ANNIE:

(on her feet) What are you talking about? I gave you everything. I gave you my youth, I carried you in my body for 9 freakin month okay, it’s not easy popping a baby out and I had to take care of you for the past 15 years.

GINNIE:

Take care of me? Stop lying to yourself mom. You never took care of me. You have always been selfish. You never thought about me.

ANNIE:

Enough! (back to the bean bag and sips her wine)

GINNIE:

Look at you, mom. You are a mess. You grew up in a good home, mom – in a good family. But I have to grow up in this piece of shit!

ANNIE:

Stop it! Don’t you think I am hurting enough? (starts to puke)

GINNIE:

Hurting? You? No mom, the one who is being hurt is me. Do you think it’s easy for me to walk into the house every day and see you scattered around the floor? Do know how hurtful it is to hear you vomiting in the bathroom? To find empty bottles everywhere in the house? I can’t even bring my friends over because you are always on the floor.

ANNIE:

Well I am sorry I am such an embarrassment to you!

I am trying my best- I give you a house, I give you food, I send you to school. I don’t know what else you need from me.

GINNIE:

I need a mother.

ANNIE:

I AM your mother.

GINNIE:               

No, you are an alcoholic! (grabs the wine bottle)

ANNIE:

(lies on the bean bag) This is unfair. You make me feel like I am unfit to be a mother. I am a good mother, I know I am. I have always cared for you.

GINNIE:

How can you care for someone when you are drunk? Mom, you don’t have the slightest clue of what you’ve done to me.

ANNIE:

I take good care of you.

GINNIE:

What? Mom, you let Joe hit me. Every time he beats me up, I used to cry – not because it hurts, but because I couldn’t run to you.

ANNIE cries. 

GINNIE:

How could you, mom? How could you let him into our lives?

ANNIE:

He takes care of us, Ginnie. He puts food on the table. He pays the bills. How else are we going to survive?

GINNIE:

Just admit it mom, you married him for your own comfort.

ANNIE:

Stop that. Whatever I did, I did it for us!

GINNIE:

Mom, since before, you were never there for me. You always drop me at grandma’s so you can go places. Grandma was the one who took me to school, to my concerts and took care of me. You were never there, mom. You were never there. Never.

ANNIE:

(mumbles, refuses to listen to GINNIE)

 GINNIE:

Mom, can’t you see? Joe is destroying your life. And you are letting him destroy mine.

ANNIE:

Enough. You are making my head spin. I..I.. need another drink. Where’s…my…gimme my bottle.

GINNIE:

No!

ANNIE:

Give it back!

GINNIE:

You had enough!!!!

ANNIE:

Give it to me! (pukes)

GINNIE roughly passes ANNIE a bucket.

ANNIE continues to puke.

GINNIE:

Look at you. You used to be beautiful…you used to be so strong. But now you are just pathetic.

ANNIE eventually stops puking. Places her head on the bean bag. GINNIE places the wine bottle and condom on the black box, kneels down next to ANNIE.

GINNIE:

Leave him, ma. We don’t need him. I can help you get better…

ANNIE:

(drowsy) I can’t….can’t. (Continues to mumble).

GINNIE:

We can do it ma. We can do it together, ma. I could get a job after school and help you and…we can move to a smaller place..and…and…Ma…ma…

GINNIE checks on her mom and finds ANNIE asleep.

 JOE walks in.

GINNIE turns towards JOE.

JOE:

Hey little girl.

(walks to ANNIE)

Aah..my sleeping beauty.

JOE bends and kisses ANNIE’s forehead.

JOE turns to GINNIE. Grabs the condom on the black box.

JOE:

A-ha. Just what I need.

Come, little girl…

JOE grabs GINNIE’s buttocks and ushers her out of the stage as GINNIE turns looking at ANNIE.

 

The End.

Fa’s Note:
You are welcome to use my script for your own use, however I would appreciate it if you would ensure I am informed and credit my name as the playwright. Thanks.

3 thoughts on “10 Minute Play: LIFE. UNSCRIPTED”

Leave a Reply

